Beginners Course Package
IL Concealed Carry License RENEWAL Class (4 hours) $65.00
The Illinois Conceal Carry Act is known as Public Act (430 ILCS 66) was created on July 29, 2013. Applications for renewal of the IL CCW license must be made to the Illinois State Police. The application fee is the same, $150 for a new or renewal of the Illinois Conceal Carry License. A license shall be renewed for a period of 5 years upon receipt of a completed renewal application, completion of 3 hours of training required under Section 75 of this Act, payment of the applicable renewal fee, and completion of a background investigation under Section 35 of this Act. The Illinois Conceal Carry License Renewal class must be a minimum of 3 hours.
The student will shoot 30 rounds and needs to obtain no less than 21 hits on target which is 70%.
Two hours of the curriculum is recommended to cover:
- A refresher for the CCW licensee on the Federal laws, Illinois law, and city laws
- as well as inform the licensee of the changes to the Illinois Concealed Carry law
- firearm handling and storage• firearm basic rules of safety
- firearm carry• firearm transportation• Firearm Owners ID card act
- Unlawful use of Weapons
- Use of force in defense of a person
- Use of force in defense of dwelling
- Use of force in defense of other property
One hour of the curriculum is recommended to cover:
- handgun fundamentals
- draw the firearm from concealment
Live fire qualification instructionThe Illinois Concealed Carry License Renewal class will have a live fire qualification from a distance of:
- 10 shots at 5 yards
- 10 shots at 7 yards
- 10 shots at 10 yards shooting at a B-27 silhouette target approved by the Illinois State Police
IL Concealed Carry Class and Permit (16 hours) $250.00
Applicants must have at least 16 hours of training approved by the Illinois State Police, and pass a live fire exercise with a concealable firearm, consisting of: a minimum of 30 rounds; and10 rounds from a distance of 5 yards;10 rounds from a distance of 7 yards; and10 rounds from a distance of 10 yards. Target is a B-27 silhouette.A student must hit the target with 70% of the rounds fired. Must be administered by an Illinois Certified Instructor.
Except as otherwise provided, no later than 90 days after receipt of a completed application, the Illinois State Police shall issue or deny the applicant a license.
Illinois State Police shall issue or deny the applicant a license no later than 60 days if fingerprints are provided.
Firearm safety (Classroom)
- Four simple firearm handling safety rules of Home storage
- Public Storage
- Vehicle storage
Basic principles of marksmanship (Classroom/Range)
- Sight Alignment
- Sight Picture
- Trigger Control
Firearm Care, loading, unloading, and cleaning of a concealable firearm (Classroom)
- Gun identification: revolver, semi-automatic, etc.
- Ammunition identification and selection
- Safety and cleaning steps
- Cleaning equipment
- Loading and unloading
All applicable State and Federal laws relating to the ownership, storage, carry, and transportation of a firearm (Classroom)
The Act in its entirety
- Emphasis on the 430 ILCS 66/10(h) which includes instruction on the appropriate and lawful interaction with law enforcement while transporting or carrying a concealed firearm.
- Emphasis on the 430 ILCS 66/65 which includes instruction on prohibited areas and the parking lot exception.
The FOID Act 430 ILCS 65/1 et. seq.
Relevant portions of the ILCS including but not limited to
- 720 ILCS 5/7-1. Use of force in defense of a person**
- 720 ILCS 5/7-2. Use of force in defense of dwelling**
- 720 ILCS 5/7-3. Use of force in defense of other property**
- 720 ILCS 24/1 et. seq. Unlawful Use of Weapons
**** Must define dwelling, aggressor, forcible felony and unlawful use of weapons pursuant to the ILCS.
- Dry fire practice drills, handgun fundamentals
- Dry fire practice drills from concealment
- Live fire practice drills, handgun fundamentals
- Live fire qualification with a concealable firearm consisting of minimum of 30 rounds which must include 10 rounds from a distance of 5 yards; 10 rounds from a distance of 7 yards; and 10 rounds from a distance of 10 yards at a B-27 silhouette target approved by the Illinois State Police. (See www.isp.state.il.us/firearms/ccw/ccw-faq.cfm)
CLIC is taught in modules and is very easy for students to participate and understand.
Prior Course requirements that are acceptable are listed below:
| Acceptable Courses
|| Credited Hours
|Illinois Hunter Safety Course
|| 4 Hours
|Chicago Firearms Safety Course
|Florida Concealed Carry
|Kentucky Concealed Carry
|Michigan Concealed Carry
|Missouri Concealed Carry
|Nevada Concealed Carry
|Utah Concealed Carry
|NRA Basic Pistol
|| new announcement
|NRA Personal Protection In The Home
|NRA Personal Protection Outside The Home
Visual Learn now requires you to take the NRA Basic Pistol class. The NRA Basic Pistol class will award you 8 of the 16 mandatory hours to qualify for the IL ISP CCW permit. Here are the benefits of taking the NRA Basic Pistol class for your IL CCW:
- You will get your NRA Basic Pistol certification
- You will complete 8 of 16 hours required to get your IL CCW
- You only have to take the final 8 hours to qualify for your IL CCW permit
- You're part of a select few that get the most intensive and highly valuable training in safety offered in the NRA Basic Pistol class
- You meet the qualifications should you decide to go for the NRA Basic Pistol Instructor class
- You will be awarded two certifications the NRA Basic Pistol and the IL CCW!!
A DD214 (discharge papers from military service) will also satisfy the first 8 hours.
- DD214 qualifies you for a 50% discount on the IL CCW class but we still ask that you attend both days and take the (16) hours of training
- Please bring for the first day of class your DD214 papers
- A second exact copy of your DD214 papers that the instructor keeps for their record. In the copy for the instructor please blank out, block, or black out the following fields:
- Social Security number
- Day, Month, Year of birth
- Must be 21 years or older.
- Hearing protection and safety glasses for the range. (Available for rent)
- Bring a light jacket or loose fitting button down shirt to conceal your firearm for the practice drills.
- If you own a firearm, bring it unloaded in a case for the live fire range drills.
- If you own ammunition, bring 100-150 rounds to the range for the range session/qualification.
- A FOID Card is not required, but if you have one please bring it for our records.
- Bring a valid Driver's License or State ID and a photocopy of your ID.
- A minimum of 50 rounds
- shoot 10 rounds from a distance of 5 yards
- shoot 10 rounds from a distance of 7 yards
- and shoot 10 rounds from a distance of 10 yards at a B-27 silhouette target approved by the ISP.
Students must bring:
- Concealable firearm
- A good sturdy belt and an outside the waistband holster that covers the trigger of their firearm. If you need one, we have some you can use
- 100 rounds of ammunition
- Bring extra ammunition if desired. Time permitting, we will have some extra drills and target shooting after the qualification shoot is finished.
- For those of you that have your own firearm, bring your unloaded and cased pistol and a minimum of 100 rounds of factory ammunition. If you have a firearm you intend to use for personal defense, bring it to the course.
- A 30 minute break will be provided for lunch. Students may eat at a local restaurant or bring a lunch. Please leave this in your vehicle until the afternoon shooting section of the course.
- If you do not have a firearm to use for the course, you may use one of ours for FREE!
- Hearing and eye protection will be provided.
Each student receives a packet that contains the following items:
- CD with the Illinois Carry Law
- ILCS definitions
- Lots of tips and articles about Concealed Carry
- Your targets from the live fire exam, plus (3) free targets to continue your training the next time you visit a shooting range
States that recognize your ILLINOIS CONCEALED CARRY LICENSE:
ALABAMA, ALASKA, ARIZONA, ARKANSAS, IDAHO, ILLINOIS, INDIANA, IOWA, KANSAS, KENTUCKY, MICHIGAN, MISSISSIPPI, MISSOURI, MONTANA, NEBRASKA, NEVADA, NORTH CAROLINA, OHIO, OKLAHOMA, SOUTH DAKOTA, TENNESSEE, UTAH, VERMONT, AND WISCONSIN.
The Illinois state charges a separate $150.00 fee to process your IL CCW permit application as well.
The fingerprint scanning is NOT provided by Visual Learn. Students must find a live fingerprint scan service and make arrangements to get your digital fingerprints processed as part of the IL CCW permit application process.
NOTE: NO AMMUNITION ALLOWED IN THE CLASSROOM!